Juan Gil de Araujo, of Palacio de Fefiñanes winery, has been reappointed president of Ruta do Viño Rías Baixas, a member of the Club de Producto (Product Club) of Wine Routes of Spain. The election was unanimous among the board of directors.


The general secretary of the Regulatory Council of Rías Baixas Denomination of Origin, Ramón Huidobro, will become the vice-president of this non-profit association. The governing body is complete with Gonzalo Pita, deputy mayor of the town of Sanxenxo, as secretary; and Xavier Zas, of the Condes de Albarei winery, as treasurer.

The elections of Ruta do Viño Rías Baixas involved 11 spokespersons of the board of directors, as well as Ramón Huidobro and Ruth González in representation of the Regulatory Council and Turismo Rías Baixas, respectively. All of them took office to then continue with the voting regarding the directors for the following four years of this non-profit association.

Therefore, the board of directors of Ruta do Viño Rías Baixas includes:

– Juan Gil de Araujo, Palacio de Fefiñanes winery
– Gonzalo Pita, deputy mayor of the town Sanxenxo
– Xavier Zas, Condes de Albarei S.A.U.
– Jesús María Fernández, mayor of O Rosal
– Arturo Grandal, town councillor of Salvaterra de Miño
– José Ramón Abal, councillor of Enoturismo de Cambados
– Antón Fonseca, Terras Gauda winery
– Antonio Ruiloba, La Val winery
– Benjamín Míguez, Casa Rural María Barguiela
– Meritxell Marcos, Parador de Turismo do Albariño
– Laura Dosil, Hotel Talaso Louxo La Toja

The general manager of Ruta do Viño Rías Baixas, Lorean Varela, seized the occasion to speak with the new board of directors about the upcoming promotional actions planned. These include the activities for the Día Europea del Enoturismo (European Wine Tourism Day) programme (including wine tasting on a catamaran and VI Cata Amateur) and the II BTT Ruta do Viño Rías Baixas, which will take place during the month of November.

The new president summoned all spokespersons to a next meeting, where they are to discuss the actions carried out by the non-profit, as well as the goals and activities proposed for 2018.

About the Club de Producto (Product Club) of Wine Routes of Spain

Asociación Española de Ciudades de Vino – ACEVIN (Spanish Association of Wine Cities) coordinates and develops the project and brand Wine Routes of Spain since 2001, a product club for wine tourism that is backed by the Ministry of Agriculture and Fishing, Food and Environment, the Secretary of State for Tourism and the Tourism Institute TURESPAÑA that has become a point of reference both nationally and internationally. The club is currently made up of 27 wine tourism destinations located throughout the country that promote wines and gastronomy in their region, work as a network, opt for sustainable tourism and collaborate with both public and private entities. Currently, it groups together more than 550 municipalities and over 2,000 companies (600 of which are wineries), which receive over 2.2 million visitors a year, both national and foreigners, with increasing growth in these numbers over the last few years.

The main destinations for wine tourism and the country’s most well-known winegrowing regions all have formally constituted Wine Routes, created with a model for sustainable development in wine tourism that guarantees quality service. They are all a part of the Club de Producto (Product Club) of Wine Routes of Spain so as to foster synergies, promote themselves at both a national and international level, boost competitiveness and recognise the important endeavours of the sector. The current Wine Routes of Spain include: Alicante, Arlanza, Bullas, Calatayud, Campo de Cariñena, Cigales, El Bierzo Enoturismo, Empordà, Jumilla, Marco de Jerez, Garnacha-Campo de Borja, Lleida-Costers del Segre, Montilla-Moriles, Navarra, Enoturisme Penedès, Rías Baixas, Ribera de Duero, Ribera del Guadiana, Rioja Alavesa, Rioja Alta, Rueda, Serranía de Ronda, Sierra de Francia, Somontano, Txakoli, Utiel-Requena and Yecla